• The Prize is presented with a person who following the principles of interpersonal and international solidarity has visibly and effectively contributed to the strengthening and protection of democracy and civil liberties around the world, in various countries or regions.

    The Prize cannot be awarded to organization or group of people.

    Each Laureate receives a statuette. In total the Prize value amount to 1 mln EUR of which 0,25 mln EUR is the cash prize for the Laureate. 50 000 EUR is allocated to financing of the Laureate’s participation in the Award Ceremony and study visit to Poland for the Laureate or a group of persons selected by him/her. Around 700 000 EUR shall be allocated to finance development cooperation projects, indicated by the Laueate.


    The first Laureate was Mustafa Dhemilev, Leader of the Crimean Tatars who was also nominated several times to the Peace Nobel Prize.


    The 2015 Laureate of the Lech Walesa Solidarity Prize is a Russian journalist Ms. Zhanna Nemtsova.

    Print Print Share: