• Faithful to my Homeland, the Republic of Poland

    Archive website
    The MFA has a new website:



    The Security Council is one of the main bodies of the United Nations. The United Nations Charter grants the Council with primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.


    The Security Council includes fifteen countries, five of which (China, France, Russia, the United States and the United Kingdom) have the status of permanent members. The remaining ten countries are elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years, while each year five non-permanent members are elected.



    Additionally, there is an informal rule that one seat (alternately from the African or Asia-Pacific group) is given to the Arab states as the so called “Arab swing seat”.



    The most recent information on the activities of the Security Council is available at:



    Photo: United Nations Photo/Flickr

    Drukuj Print Share: